Most Memorable Meal: Introduction

24 Oct

A big part of the reason I love food is because it’s so effortless in its ability to bring people together. Now, I love a good pig out as much as the next person, dressing myself up as a foodie solely to make the sheer amount I trough socially acceptable. And whilst I indulge in the occasional secret binge, eating hobnobs by the packet (alone and usually while watching Home and Away), the thing I love most about food is that it has been the backdrop to some of the most memorable conversations of my life, and played a huge part in shaping the relationships I have with the people I love.*

Soppy muck, but true. Never underestimate the power of a good meal (and a few too many glasses of wine), sitting face-to-face for a few hours for getting everything off your chest, or providing a brilliant opportunity to bring a group of people together and have a proper catch up. Spending more time with people I love, or getting to know new people who are similarly loco about food, is one of the major reasons I started this blog. Praise be to Lickerish Split.

I have seen more of my Auntie Emma (another food nut) in the past few months than I have in the past few years over our shared love of a good recipe, and have met ace people like Helen and Robyn at many a food event across Manchester, since having had them round for tea with a whole years worth of foodie fun planned out ahead of us.

At some point, I’ll share my most memorable meal; something which really sticks out not only as an incredible food experience, but something that also means something special to me and the person (or people) I shared it with. For the next few months or so, however, I’m going to put the occasional blog post in the hands of my favourite fellow foodies who also have a story to share. The brief is simple: share your most memorable meal, who it was with and why it was so special. Looking forward to seeing which experiences people hold most dear…

* Though my taste in TV programmes may be a little dodgy, my food choices and dining companions are always of the highest quality.

3 Responses to “Most Memorable Meal: Introduction”

  1. laurencoulman October 24, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    That would be great. My email is lickerishlauren@gmail.com, so give me a shout…

    She’s on the list Aunty Em, as are you…

    xxx

  2. Aunty Em October 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    What a lush idea. You should get Nana to do this. She’d have lovely stories I’ll bet xxx

  3. A Reluctant Foodie October 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    If you’re interested, I wrote a post on this topic earlier this year. Let me know – I can send it to you for review. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

