Aussie Crunch

24 Aug

If you hail from Bolton, as I do, you more than likely attended a school where a tuck shop delicacy named Aussie Crunch* was made available to purchase for the very reasonable sum of 35p (circa 1990 – 2001). A heavenly crispy confection of chocolate and coconut, many a Boltonian gets serious slaver chops over the memory of Aussie Crunch, me included.

Fellow blogger and funny Bolton lady Rachel McGrath, who I met and worked with many moons ago, shared this recipe with me last year, then posted it as the opening gambit on her excellent blog Dollybakes a few months back. Her recent retweeting of the Aussie Crunch recipe had me seriously excited, especially as this weekend just gone, I headed south to visit an old school friend, Rhiann, and could think of no better treat (and thank you gift) for having me.

Aussie Crunch

It was just as well I made a big batch, as Rhiann ruined me with gorgeous country walks, a sunny afternoon of cava by her local lake and a fabulous dinner out. Hopefully, the Aussie Crunch and a bottle of something bubbly held their own against the incredible hospitality she showered upon me, especially as the tray bake only improves with age, and the amount I made her (a true Bolton portion) should last her a week.

With Rachel’s permission, I have faithfully reposted her original recipe, (though she has also devised an enticing white chocolate version should you care to go crazy), so you can make your very own batch of Bolton bliss.

Ingredients

  • 200g Stork
  • 140g golden caster sugar
  • 85g desiccated coconut
  • 75g crushed cornflakes
  • 1tbsp cocoa powder
  • 140g self-raising flour
  • 230g bar of Cadbury’s chocolate

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C / 350°F / gas mark 4.
  2. Melt the Stork in the microwave.
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  4. Pour in the Stork and mix until well combined.
  5. Pour into a swiss roll tin or baking tray.
  6. Squash it down evenly into the tin with the back of a spoon.
  7. Bake for 35 minutes.
  8. Allow to cool.  
  9. When cool, melt the chocolate over a bain-marie and pour over the Aussie Crunch mixture. Level off with a spatula and pop in the fridge to set. 
  10. Take out of the fridge about 30 minutes before eating so it’s easier to cut into slabs.

*I have no idea why it’s called Aussie Crunch. Perhaps it seemed exotic to the school dinner ladies, thus giving it a fancy name.

4 Responses to “Aussie Crunch”

  1. Tracy March 12, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

    I went to westhoughton high school, I don’t recall ever having it ? But it’s really nice and I made it gluten free !

  2. Zoe January 9, 2015 at 11:54 am #

    I went to Rivington and Blackrod and am made up to have found this reciepe!!!

  3. Marie October 29, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Although born in Bolton I hadn’t heard of this. Will definitely be trying it though.

  4. Mrs Petticoat August 24, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I can confirm that this recipe is indeed better than the one they use to sell at St Joseph’s RC high school!

Leave a Reply

