Love. Food. Longtime

11 Jul

I have had big love for food since I was small. Video evidence of my penchant for pasties, aged two, is still in circulation amongst family members, waving said pastry around my wendy house and alerting my amused father to the fact that I did in fact, have a pasty. (Stop sniggering. I was two).

Gourmet dinner at The Mark Addy, Manchester with good friend Mary, who was all too keen to demonstrate my piggy ways.

My love for food hasn’t always been pure. Binge eating smoky bacon crisps as a latchkey kid, with free reign to roam the cupboards, was a particularly low point, as were the years 1989 to 1998, when our house was sponsored by Findus and McCain. The university years weren’t much better, though the inverted snob in me thought I’d moved up in the world for choosing to use Lloyd Grossman pasta sauce over supermarket own label. Fool.

Then along came the revelation. A heavenly job, combining my love for marketing and (what I previously thought to be merely) excessive greed combined, and I got to work with some of the most talented producers of food and drink in the North West. My taste buds sharpened and I cleaned up my act. A whole new world of regional delicacies, chefs, food festivals and restaurants opened up before me, and I never looked back.*

I learnt to cook, bake AND buy a decent bottle of wine. I’ve come a long way from being taught to chop mushrooms from an ex-boyfriends Mum, (no jokes), to holding fairly well cobbled together dinner parties for friends and family. I eat out at some seriously good restaurants though am still known for indulging in the occasional dirty takeaway, an abiding habit that I couldn’t possibly break.

Thinking about, making, ordering and (most importantly) eating food occupies a hefty proportion of my time, but as with all passions, my love for food has come full circle. From mere survival, (pasties are part of your five a day in my hometown of Bolton), to sheer gluttony, with a lengthy stopover in the more serious considerations of flavour, technique, service and table linen, it all comes back to the people you share it with.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love to fill my belly and follow my taste buds wherever they take me, but over time, food has become something much more important for me. It’s an enabler, if you will, the glue that brings me and my friends and family together.

A piece of cake or good dinner is the perfect fodder for the best catch up you could ever ask for, and sharing scran has nurtured some of the most important relationships in my life. So for me, food is much more than an enjoyable pastime. It’s invaluable.

Soppy shit aside, does all this guff give me the right to blog about food and my happiness in sharing it? Probably not, but I’m going to anyway. Put chubby fingers to keyboard and share my food experiences. With my friends, family and random people out there who have eyes as big as my belly. So pull up a (metaphorical) chair and tuck in.  

 * Apart from the occasional longing glance at KFC. Natch.

7 Responses to “Love. Food. Longtime”

  1. luciebartlett July 11, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    This is very excellent news LC. So thrilled you are finally sharing your foodie exploits with the world – which will I’m sure be thoroughly entertained by your hilarious and engaging musings.

    Keep it up! And get cracking on sharing those baking recipes x

  2. laurencoulman July 11, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Ha! Thanks Aunty Em! Well and truly outed as a serial binge eater in my childhood. Little pig. The shame is all my mother’s though. Bernard Matthews! Tsk.

    Thank you for the lovely comments! You’re all lovely and will be very much involved in my plan to share tucker as often as possible.

    xxx

  3. Aunty Em July 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Awe happy days. I too remember your love for pasties, enduring and constant. Like all good food habits should be. Also, the Christmas day when you were of dubious tastes pops into my mind. Mushy peas were then your chosen accompaniment for turkey which had to Bernard Matthews ready to roast! Shane on you. However, my favourite foody greedy memory was of you devouring half a box of after eights and a full box of roses. The speed by which they reappeared was remarkable. Also remarkable was the way you managed to redecorate nana’s bathroom all by yourself on Christmas day at the age of five. Brilliance. Only at the age of five could we binge in such a ludicrous manner and everyone still think you were totally cute and feel sorry for you. One of your undoubted finest moments I’m sure. Love you blog hunny x

  4. hannah July 11, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Fantastic! Love it, uber clever and entertaining… as expected xx

  5. Alison Kenyon July 11, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Feel free to enlist me in any food sharing experiences darling! Xxx

  6. Holly Whitman July 11, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Love to see someone with such a gorgeous passion for gorgeous food! Can’t wait to see all your reviews & tips. I’m lucky to have you in my life & now everyone can share in your love & talent x

  7. dollybakes July 11, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Good for you! I can’t wait to see what delights go on this bad boy! x

Leave a Reply

